New to site?


Login

Lost password? (X)

Already have an account?


Signup

(X)

Blog

Overview of the African Tech: Africa, the new border of the digital revolution

01
Dec 2018

Plenary 1 of the 20th of November 2018 - Led by Samir Abdelkrim Palais du Pharo - Emerging Valley

Panelists :

  • Othman El Ferdaous, Secretary of State for Investment, assistant to the Ministry of Industry, Investment, Trade & Digital Economy (Morocco)
  • Bosun Tijani, CEO & Co-founder of CcHub (Nigeria)
  • Omar Cissé, CEO & Founder of InTouch, (Senegal)
  • Fatoumata Ba, CEO & Founder of Jaango (Ivory Coast)
  • Cedric Atangana, CEO and Co-founder of WeCashUp (Cameroon)
  • Stephen Ozoigbo, CEO of DEMO Africa (USA / Nigeria)

Specificities of African digital entrepreneurs: the role of tech

“In Africa, tech is used for improving the living conditions of citizens, for the real economy, the inclusion and the common good.”

CEO and founder of Jaango, Fatoumata Ba opened the plenary by underlining three crucial features of digital entrepreneurship in Africa :

  • The urgency of the problems it tries to resolve, with the aim of improving the living conditions of the African population and to offer them a regular and decent income
  • The double concern of economic performance and social and inclusive impact
  • Tech as a true opportunity for forgotten economic actors who suffered from the digital gap (such as SMEs)

“It’s not about copying Silicon Valley but looking for unique opportunities where tech can change the society for good.”

Bosun Tijani supported Fatoumata’s intervention and underlined the fact that tech is intrinsically for good in Africa. According to him, an entrepreneurial African project is successful when tech can leapfrog challenges of the continent, in the fields of education, health etc. He recalled Co-creation Hub’s ambition to help create businesses using technologies to solve crucial African problems.

Public authorities and big companies, key startups’ allies

Regarding the structural challenges that entrepreneurs meet in Africa, Othman El Ferdaous highlighted the significant role of public authorities in the “most disparate continent in the world”. As a State representative, he listed four key pillars that need to be implemented in order to give volume and economies of scale to entrepreneurs, in Morocco notably :

  • A policy of regional and national high-speed, with notably the issue of the 5G
  • The development of fintech and mobile payments to fight against the market fragmentation, and the importance of big data and artificial intelligence in structuring those markets
  • The digitalization of the status of “self-entrepreneur”
  • The promotion of women entrepreneurship

Likewise, for Omar Cissé, collaborations between entrepreneurs and big companies are also crucial in the “conquest of opportunities”. He explained that startups should develop solutions and technologies by themselves, then scale them thanks to the network and security of a major group, as with InTech and Total.

Opportunities of the African market: the example of fintech

“Today, Africa is a land of contrasts. And many opportunities emerge from those contrasts.”

Described as the “champion of African fintech” and holding a record for fundraising last year, Omar Cissé recalled the numerous opportunities to take in the field of fintech in Africa. As an example, his society In Touch, currently composed of 230 people throughout the continent, manages one million euros of transactions per day and has the ambition of covering 38 countries in the three-four next years.

A “bridge between Europe and Africa” and a “city full of History”: Cedric Atangana came back to his choice of establishing his startup in Marseille. He defined himself as a “product of association between Europe and Africa” and has developed his operations on the African continent. He explained the opportunity he took with WeCashUp: combining payment solutions and integrate them on e-commerce websites in a very shattered market. Here are some meaningful figures of this undeveloped potential at the time: an internet penetration rate above 50%, an attractive and growing market for online merchants but more than 155 different payment solutions. Covering currently 36 countries, Cedric Atangana is strongly convinced that the African market is “the most attractive in the world” and that “world innovation is in Africa” today.

Developing and scaling one’s African startup beyond the continent: good practices

“What Silicon Valley brings is access to capital, to global opportunities, to market landscape, to technologies, but in terms of technology themselves, the context of Silicon Valley applies to bring unique African solutions”

Contrary to the other members of the panel, Stephen Ozoigbo engaged in African entrepreneurship from an international standpoint. He notably makes the link between Silicon Valley and the continent by organizing, with DEMO Africa, meetings between African startups and North-American, and international, investors. He declared that five pillars have advanced the development of entrepreneurship between Africa and the rest of the world :

  • Government as an enabler
  • Institutions
  • Corporates and investors
  • Entrepreneurs themselves
  • African diaspora

On this last point, he recommended to the diaspora’s members to give attention to the African context and to bring mentorship, advice, and capital to African entrepreneurs. His final key takeaway: to think Africa from a Pan-African and global standpoint.

Conclusions

“There is a real culture of entrepreneurship and startup in Africa, but the African entrepreneur has to make two hundred times the effort than an entrepreneur from Silicon Valley”.

Othman El Ferdaous concluded on the importance of partnership between African startups and big companies, especially regarding the exit strategy. When markets cannot enable the exit of investors, a large venture can offer entrepreneurs an exit or investment. According to him, the government here has his role to play as an enabler and creator of “bridges” between these two actors.

Finally, he recalled to entrepreneurs the existence of specific barriers to African market entry and the significance of working upstream on R&D to adapt their product or services to the market conditions.

Summary

This panel highlighted the key idea that African entrepreneurship differs from other innovative ecosystems in the world, and especially from Silicon Valley, with its tendency to be intrinsically “tech for good”-oriented. Indeed, technology appears to be nothing more than a catalyst for a better society and an ally for forgotten economic actors, such as SMEs. Although there are numerous opportunities to take advantage of, in the field of fintech for example, startups are facing multiple obstacles that prevent them from developing and scaling up. In response to those difficulties, some major recommendations should be considered by African entrepreneurs : to target several markets, by adopting a Panafrican and international approach, to develop the capacity to build partnerships with big companies on the continent, by thinking about the entry and exit strategy, and to invest in R&D in order to limit the numerous entry barriers to the African market. Finally, the State needs also to act as a facilitator and a bridge between startups and big companies. In this manner, he will enable the achievement of economies of scale through public policies dedicated to implementing efficient market structures.

Tags:

    Related Posts

New to site?


Login

Lost password? (X)

Already have an account?


Signup

(X)

Blog

L’Afrique, nouvelle frontière de la révolution numérique

01
Déc 2018

Plénière 1 du 20 novembre 2018 – Modérée par Samir Abdelkrim – Palais du Pharo – Emerging Valley

Panélistes :

  • Othman El Ferdaous, Secrétaire d’État chargé de l’Investissement auprès du ministre de l’Industrie, de l’Investissement, du Commerce et de l’Économie numérique (Maroc)
  • Bosun Tijani, CEO et CoFondateur de CcHub (Nigeria)
  • Omar Cissé, CEO et Fondateur de InTouch, (Senegal)
  • Fatoumata Ba, CEO et Fondatrice de Jaango (Côte d’Ivoire)
  • Cedric Atangana, CEO et co-fondateur de WeCashUp (Cameroun)
  • Stephen Ozoigbo, CEO de DEMO Africa (USA / Nigeria)

Spécificités des entrepreneurs africains : le rôle de la tech

“En Afrique, la tech sert avant tout à améliorer les conditions de vie des citoyens, pour l’économie réelle, l’inclusion et le bien commun”

Fatoumata Ba, CEO et fondatrice de Jaango, ouvrait cette plénière en soulignant les trois caractéristiques fondamentales de l’entrepreneuriat numérique en Afrique selon elle :

  • Le caractère essentiel des défis auxquels il répond, dans l’objectif d’améliorer les conditions de vie de la population et de lui offrir un revenu économique récurrent et décent.
  • Le double enjeu de performance économique et d’impact social inclusif
  • La tech comme véritable opportunité pour les acteurs économiques oubliés et victimes de la fracture numérique, tels que les PMEs.

“Il ne s’agit pas de copier la Silicon Valley mais de rechercher des opportunités uniques permettant à la tech de créer une meilleure société “

Bosun Tijani appuyait le propos de Fatoumata Ba en soulignant l’existence d’une tech intrinsèquement for good en Afrique. Selon lui, le succès d’un projet entrepreneurial africain provient de sa capacité à utiliser la tech pour surmonter les défis du continent, que ce soit dans les secteurs de l’éducation, de la santé etc. Il évoque à ce titre l’ambition de Co-creation Hub d’accompagner les projets qui recourent aux technologies comme  moyens au service d’une finalité : la résolution de problèmes essentiels africains.

Pouvoirs publics et grands groupes, partenaires incontournables des startups

Face aux défis structurels auxquels sont confrontés les entrepreneurs (manque d’infrastructures par exemple), Othman El Ferdaous rappelle le rôle primordial des pouvoirs publics dans le “continent le plus fragmenté du monde” . En tant que représentant de l’Etat, il énumère quatre piliers fondamentaux à mettre en place afin de fournir à la fois le volume et une économie d’échelle aux entrepreneurs, notamment au Maroc :

  • Une politique de haut débit régional et national, avec notamment l’enjeu de la 5G
  • Le développement de la fintech et des paiements mobiles afin de lutter contre la fragmentation des marchés, ainsi que l’importance de la big data et de l’intelligence artificielle dans la structuration de ces marchés
  • La digitalisation du statut de l’auto-entrepreneur
  • La promotion de l’entrepreneuriat féminin

De même, selon Omar Cissé, les collaborations entre entrepreneurs et grandes entreprises sont essentielles  également dans la “conquête d’opportunités”. Il expliquait ainsi que les startups doivent développer des solutions et des technologies par elles-mêmes et, ensuite, les scaler grâce au réseau et à la sécurité d’un grand groupe, comme c’est le cas d’InTouch avec Total.

Opportunités du marché africain : l’exemple de la fintech

“L’Afrique est une terre de contrastes. De ces contrastes naissent beaucoup d’opportunités. “

Dépeint comme le “champion des fintech africaines”, et à son actif une levée de fonds record l’année dernière, Omar Cissé rappelait la pléthore d’opportunités à saisir dans le secteur de la fintech en Afrique. A titre d’exemple, sa société InTouch, composée aujourd’hui de 230 personnes à travers le continent, gère un million d’euros de transactions par jour et a l’ambition de couvrir 38 pays dans les trois-quatre prochaines années.

Un “pont entre l’Europe et l’Afrique” et une “ville chargée d’histoires”,  Cedric Atangana revenait sur son choix de baser sa startup à Marseille. Se définissant comme un “produit de l’association de l’Europe et de l’Afrique”, il développe actuellement ses opérations sur le continent africain. Il expliquait l’opportunité dont il s’est saisie avec WeCashUp : celle d’agréger des solutions de paiement et de les intégrer sur les sites d’e-commerce dans un marché africain très fragmenté. Des chiffres parlants de ce potentiel alors inexploité : une pénétration d’internet supérieure à 50%, un marché attractif et grandissant pour les sites marchands mais plus de 155 solutions de paiement différentes. Présents aujourd’hui dans 36 pays, Cedric Atangana est fermement convaincu que le marché africain est  le “plus attractif au monde aujourd’hui” et que l’” innovation du monde se passe en Afrique aujourd’hui”.

Développer et scaler sa startup africaine, au delà du continent : les bonnes pratiques

“ L’accès au capital, à des opportunités internationales, à un marché, à des technologies…. La Silicon Valley amène un environnement propice mais l’objectif final est de développer des solutions uniques africaines.”

Contrairement à ses collègues du panel, Stephen Ozoigbo s’investit dans le développement de l’entrepreneuriat africain en adoptant une approche internationale. Il fait notamment le lien entre la Silicon Valley et le continent en organisant, avec DEMO Africa, des rencontres entre  startups africaines et investisseurs nord américains et du monde entier. Il affirmait qu’il y a cinq pilliers qui ont permis de – et continuent à – promouvoir l’entrepreneuriat entre l’Afrique et le reste du monde :

  • Le gouvernement en tant que facilitateur
  • Les institutions
  • Les entreprises et investisseurs
  • Les entrepreneurs eux-même
  • La diaspora africaine

Sur ce dernier point, il recommandait notamment aux membres de la diaspora de prêter attention au contexte africain et d’apporter du mentorat, des conseils, du capital aux entrepreneurs africains. Son mot d’ordre final : penser l’Afrique d’un point de vue panafricain et global.

Conclusion

“Il y a une véritable culture de l’entrepreneuriat et de la startup en Afrique mais l’entrepreneur africain doit faire 200 fois plus d’efforts qu’un entrepreneur de la Silicon Valley”.

Othman El Ferdaous concluait sur l’importance de la collaboration entre les startups africaines et les grandes entreprises, concernant notamment la stratégie de sortie. Là où les marchés ne permettent pas une sortie de l’investisseur, un grand groupe peut offrir aux entrepreneurs une voie de sortie ou d’investissement. Le gouvernement a, selon lui, ici son rôle à jouer en tant que facilitateur, et créateur de “ponts” entre ces deux acteurs.

Enfin, il rappelait aux entrepreneurs la présence particulière de barrières naturelles à l’entrée du marché africain, et l’importance d’un travail de R&D en amont afin d’adapter leur produit ou services aux conditions du marché.

Synthèse :

De ce panel ressort l’idée clé selon laquelle l’entrepreneuriat africain se distingue des autres écosystèmes d’innovation dans le monde, notamment celui de la Silicon Valley, par son caractère intrinsèquement “tech for good”. En effet, la technologie ne se révèle autre qu’un catalyseur d’une société meilleure et une alliée d’acteurs économiques oubliés, comme les PMEs. Malgré de nombreuses opportunités à exploiter, telle que celles du secteur de la fintech par exemple, les startups font face à de multiples freins qui entravent leur développement et passage à l’échelle. En réponse à ces difficultés, quelques recommandations majeures sont à retenir pour les entrepreneurs : penser le marché au pluriel, en préférant une approche panafricaine et internationale ,  développer sa capacité à nouer des partenariats stratégiques avec des grands groupes sur le continent, dans un objectif d’entrée et de sortie du capital principalement, et engager un travail préalable de R&D afin de limiter les nombreuses barrières à l’entrée du marché africain. Enfin, l’Etat a également son rôle à jouer, en tant que facilitateur et pont entre startups et grands groupes, afin de permettre l’économie d’échelle des projets à travers des politiques publiques favorisant notamment la structuration des marchés

Tags:

    Related Posts