New to site?


Login

Lost password? (X)

Already have an account?


Signup

(X)

Blog

Africa, the continent for women entrepreneurship

01
Dec 2018

Plenary 4 of the 20 of November 2018 - Ledy by Isadora Bigourdan et Zolika Bouabdallah from AFD Palais du Pharo - Emerging Valley

➢ Buljo Merete, CEO of Digital Ladies (France)

➢ Aissata Diakité, Founder of Zabbaan (Mali)

➢ Alisée de Tonnac, CEO of Seedstars (Switzerland)

➢ Yemisi Mokuolu, Founder of Hatch Africa (Nigeria)

➢ Amel Saidane, President of Tunisian Startups ((Tunisia))

➢ Emmanuel Noutary, General Delegate of Anima (France)

➢ Jacques Dasnoy, Head of Communications of INCO (France)

==> FIND THE VIDEO REPLAY OF THE PLENARY AT THE BOTTOM OF THE ARTICLE <==

Introductory remarks from the AFD

Before starting the debate, Isadora Bigourdan reminded the audience several key facts and figures related to women entrepreneurship in Africa and described in a study of the consulting firm Roland Berger : the highest women entrepreneurship rate in the world with 24% of businesses created by women compared to the 6% in Europe, an added value of 150-200 billions dollars equivalent to 7% of the continental GDP in 2016, several studies proving that women have a better return on investment and better business efficiency… Yet, numerous barriers in the ecosystems and mindsets still prevent a lot of women entrepreneurs to scale up and to raise funds. 30% of them leave their startup project because of a lack of funding.

Women entrepreneurship: observations, obstacles, and good practices

The issue of funding and mindset: an overview of Tunisian and African specificities

“We must raise the awareness of investors, and especially explain to them that having women in a team systematically brings a positive impact on business profitability. “

Amel Saidane, president of the network Tunisian Startups that counts 10 to 15% of women entrepreneurs, was highlighting the gap between the high number of graduate women engineers and the few ones who are later on the labor market. While Europe is suffering from a shortage of women in tech, they are plenty in Tunisia though. Amel Saidane was also recalling the major issue of funding, mentioning that women-owned startups tend to raise half of the funds raised by male-headed startups. She brought several explanations to those disparities: innovative solutions for issues that are misunderstood by male investors (who represent 90% of total investors), a lack of aggressiveness from women, a sexist tendency of investors to look for futures unicorns in men’s projects instead of considering women’s solid businesses with realistic projections.

 

 

“On the African continent, men need to see women in a different way than the housewife or the submissive woman.”

Aissata Diakité, the founder of the food company Zabbaan, explained that she has always been considered as a “little girl”, a “young people” or a “woman” although she runs today a business with 65 employees, working with 5000 farm operators. She recalled her difficulty to find funding at the beginning of her company when she faced banks’ reluctance, which asked for more guarantees from a woman. She is yet decided to rewrite the story. She claimed her intention, in the coming years, to reinforce the full value chain of Zabbaan by promoting women education and empowerment. The company that has trained 8000 women until today aims to impact 20 000 women by 2020. Aissata Diakité concluded on her optimism for the next years and her belief that women-led beautiful projects will continue to emerge.

 

 

Women and tech: the lack of diversity in Europe

“We are living a fourth industrial revolution. Women need to participate in the creation of tomorrow’s world and use technologies to create a better world.”

Merete Buljo came back on the Digital Ladies’ ambition to increase the visibility of women in tech, following the observation that women are ever fewer to turn to this field. She announced the submission to the government of a white book co-written by 280 people and dedicated to becoming a real source of inspiration regarding the increase of diversity in tech. Education, continuous training, visibility, sector’s attractivity are many of the issues addressed in the report.

Testimonies and initiatives from international and Mediterranean support and consulting structures

“You have to pay the upfront costs to ensure you have the right sourcing and retention mechanisms, and that you have this talent at its full potential to get the highest performances”

Alisée de Tonnac is the CEO of Seedstars, that promotes, educates and invests in startups from emerging countries. She explained that 9% of their applications come from women, with a rate reaching 12% in Sub-Saharan Africa and 16% in the MENA Region. Facing these critical figures, Seedstars aims to implement concrete solutions with short-term wins at every step of internal processes :

  • In sourcing talents: how to use channels that are not biased?
  • In job offers’ wording: which words and tools are tailored for women in job descriptions?
  • In retaining talents: how to put teams and managers accountable, to be aware of those differences and provide solutions to treat fairly and equitably all the employees?

Alisée de Tonnac finished her speech on the necessity to keep an open and transparent ecosystem through an ongoing dialogue.

“What Anima is today, it is thanks to women, especially those who funded it and worked in it.”

Emmanuel Noutary, the general delegate of Anima, recalled the founding of Anima that was entirely created by women and that currently has ⅔ of women in its team. In the context of their support program for innovation in the Mediterranean called “The Next Society”, he admitted that they need to adopt an affirmative action policy. Indeed, they have only received 15% of women applications and have the intention to increase this rate to 30%. He was questioning as well the gap in Europe between the rate of women micro-entrepreneurs reaching 40% and the rate of women in incubators decreasing at 6 to 10%. It comes again to the debate of the issue of scaling up for women.

“Let’s value the spaces that women occupy and let’s show that value in our intention and not just in our conversation”

Yemisi Mokuolu, the founder of Hatch, explained that powerful women leaders within the cultural and creative industries have influenced all the sector and brought women to create a more sustainable working environment in fashion for example. She met a lot of barriers as a woman and set up this agency to promote a more inclusive and diverse ecosystem. She has enrolled in mentoring, leadership training, technical support and diverse education programs dedicated to women. She congratulated notably the program Ayadalab she supports and that counts 60% of women entrepreneurs: according to her, it is a great example of the importance to value women’s impact and to create a favorable environment for their fulfillment in tech, digital or creative industries.

Keys takeaways from INCO

“The African continent is a land of entrepreneurship in general, and of women entrepreneurship. With tech on one side and women on the other, the continent has the ideal mix to succeed.”

Jacques Dasnoy presented briefly INCO, a French company that invests 200 million euros in impact businesses, supports startups in 28 countries and educate people in fragile and isolated areas. He highlighted the main facts and figures regarding women entrepreneurship in Africa. He mentioned notably that 25% of working-aged women are entrepreneurs and that 50% think of creating a business in the next 5 years, in a continent where entrepreneurship is rather an alternative to a labor market with few opportunities than a choice. He defended also the significance to value role models and successful women entrepreneurs to offset their tendency to self-censorship. He claimed his commitment, in partnership with the AFD, to promote entrepreneurship as a path for women’s empowerment and to support entrepreneurial projects led by and dedicated to women, through the AFD Digital Challenge 2018 especially.

Summary

Africa is a true continent of women entrepreneurship. With 24% of women-led companies compared with a 6% rate in Europe, it shows the highest women entrepreneurship rate in the world. Entrepreneurship turns out to be an alternative for women to a job market with few opportunities and in this regard, 50% of working-aged women think about creating their own business in the next five years. Concerning those who have already launched their company, they have brought an added value equivalent to 150 to 200 billion dollars in Africa in 2016 and have proved their operational efficiency. Yet, women entrepreneurs still meet today numerous obstacles, especially a lack of funding that leads 30% of them to leave their projects. The European continent shows the same dynamics as only 6 to 10% of women entrepreneurs are in an incubator and as female applications remain scarce. Several factors explain those figures, notably the investors and banks ‘sexist biases, a difficulty for women to fit the very masculine startup environment or a women self-censorship. Facing those constraints, many good practices were related during the panel, such as the implementation of more inclusive and diverse internal recruitment processes and project selections, affirmative action policies, specific support programs for women, actions for raising investors’awareness, empowerment and education of women on all the value chain, or the promotion of women role models.

Tags:

    Related Posts

New to site?


Login

Lost password? (X)

Already have an account?


Signup

(X)

Blog

L’Afrique, continent de l’entrepreneuriat féminin

01
Déc 2018

Plénière 4 du 20 novembre 2018 –  Modération par Isadora Bigourdan et Zolika Bouabdallah de l’Agence Française de Développement – Palais du Pharo  – Emerging Valley

➢     Buljo Merete, CEO de Digital Ladies (France)

➢     Aissata Diakité, Fondatrice de Zabbaan (Mali)

➢     Alisée de Tonnac, CEO de Seedstars (Suisse)

➢     Yemisi Mokuolu, Fondatrice de Hatch Africa (Nigeria)

➢     Amel Saidane, Présidente de Tunisian Startups (Tunisie)

➢     Emmanuel Noutary, Délégué Général d’Anima (France)

➢     Jacques Dasnoy, Responsable Communications à INCO (France)

==> RETROUVEZ LE REPLAY VIDEO DE LA PLENIERE EN BAS DE L’ARTICLE <==

Introduction de l’AFD

Avant de commencer, Isadora Bigourdan et Zolikah Bouabdallah revenait sur plusieurs chiffres et éléments clés liés à l’entrepreneuriat des femmes en Afrique provenant d’une étude du Cabinet Roland Berger : le plus fort taux d’entrepreneuriat féminin du monde avec 24% des entreprises créées par des femmes contre 6% en Europe, une valeur ajoutée de 150-200 milliards de dollars, soit 7% du PIB du continent, de nombreuses études qui prouvent que les femmes ont un meilleur taux de retour sur investissement et une meilleure efficacité opérationnelle …Et pourtant de nombreuses barrières dans les écosystèmes et mentalités empêchent encore de nombreuses femmes entrepreneures de passer à l’échelle et de lever des fonds. 30% d’entre elles abandonnent leur projet de création d’entreprises, faute de financements.

Entrepreneuriat féminin : constats, freins et bonnes pratiques

Le problème du financement et des mentalités : regard sur les spécificités tunisiennes et africaines

“Il faut sensibiliser les investisseurs et notamment leur expliquer qu’avoir des femmes dans une équipe apporte systématiquement un impact positif sur la profitabilité du business.”

Amel Saidane, présidente du réseau Tunisian Startups qui compte aujourd’hui 10 à 15% de femmes entrepreneures s’interrogeait sur l’écart entre le grand nombre de femmes ingénieures diplômées à la sortie de l’université et le nombre restreint d’entre elles qui sont ensuite sur le marché du travail. Là où l’Europe souffre de pénuries de femmes dans le secteur de la tech, ces dernières sont pourtant légion en Tunisie. Elle relevait également le problème majeur du financement avec des startups dirigées par des femmes levant deux fois moins de fonds que celles dirigées par des hommes. Elle apportait plusieurs explications à ces disparités : des solutions innovantes pour des problèmes non compris par les hommes qui représentent 90% des investisseurs, un manque d’agressivité de la part des femmes, ou encore parfois une tendance sexiste des investisseurs à chercher des futurs licornes chez les entrepreneurs hommes au détriment des business solides aux projections réalistes présentées par des femmes.

 

 

“Il faut que sur le continent que les hommes arrivent à voir les femmes autrement que la femme au foyer ou la femme soumise. “

Aissata Diakité, fondatrice de l’entreprise agroalimentaire Zabbaan, expliquait qu’elle était toujours considérée comme une “petite fille”, une “jeune”, ou une “femme” alors qu’elle est aujourd’hui à la tête d’une entreprise employant 65 personnes et travaillant avec plus de 5000 exploitants agricoles. Elle revenait sur sa difficulté à trouver des fonds aux débuts de son entreprise face à la frilosité des banques qui demandaient davantage de garanties à une femme. Bien décidée à changer la donne, Aissata Diakité affirmait son intention dans les prochaines années de renforcer la chaîne de valeur de Zabbaan en valorisant la formation et l’autonomisation des femmes. L’entreprise qui a formé et équipé 8000 femmes jusqu’à aujourd’hui, entend impacter 20 000 femmes d’ici 2020. Elle concluait sur son optimisme pour les années à venir et sa conviction de voir émerger de beaux projets portés par des femmes.

 

 

Les femmes et le secteur de la tech : le manque de diversité en Europe

“Nous vivons une 4ème révolution industrielle. Il faut que les femmes participent à créer le monde de demain et tirent les bénéfices des technologies pour créer un monde meilleur.”

Merete Buljo revenait sur l’ambition de Digital Ladies d’accroître la visibilité des femmes dans la tech suite au constat qu’elles étaient de moins en moins nombreuses à s’orienter vers ce secteur. Elle annonçait la remise au gouvernement en janvier d’un livre blanc, co-écrit par 280 personnes, destiné à devenir force de proposition sur plusieurs axes liés à l’accroissement de la diversité dans la tech : éducation, formation continue, visibilité, attractivité du secteur etc.

Témoignages et initiatives de structures internationales et méditerranéenne d’accompagnement et de conseil

“Il faut payer les coûts de départ, pour s’assurer que vous avez les bons mécanismes de sélection et de rétention, que vous avez ce talent à son plus haut potentiel pour l’amener aux plus hautes performances. “

Alisée de Tonnac est la CEO de Seedstars qui promeut, éduque et investit dans les startups des économies émergentes. Elle rapporte que 9% des candidatures sont féminines en général, avec un taux qui s’élève à 12% en Afrique sub-saharienne et à 16% dans la région MENA. Face à ces chiffres critiques, Seedstars met en place des solutions qui se veulent concrètes et “gagnantes à court-terme”, à toutes les étapes des processus internes :

  • Dans l’identification des talents : comment utiliser des canaux qui ne soient pas biaisés ?
  • Dans la formulation des offres : quels mots et outils utiliser dans les descriptifs d’emploi ?
  • Dans la rétention des talents : comment éduquer les équipes et les managers vers la prise de conscience de ces différences et mettre en oeuvre des solutions qui garantissent un traitement équitable et juste de tous les employé.e.s ?

Alisée de Tonnac terminait sur la nécessité de garder un écosystème ouvert et transparent fondé sur le dialogue continuel.

“Ce qu’Anima est aujourd’hui c’est grace aux femmes qu’elle le doit, notamment à celles qui l’ont fondé et celles qui y ont travaillé. “

Emmanuel Noutary, délégué général d’Anima, revenait sur la fondation d’Anima,  créée entièrement par des femmes, et organisation aujourd’hui constituée de ⅔ de femmes. Dans le cadre de leur programme d’accompagnement de l’innovation en Méditerranée, The Next Society, il admettait devoir adopter une politique de discrimination positive avec l’ambition d’accompagner 30% de femmes entrepreneures, là où ils ne reçoivent aujourd’hui que 15% de candidatures féminines. Il s’interrogeait également à l’échelle européenne sur le fossé entre le taux de micro-entrepreneures de 40% et celui réduit de 6-10% d’entrepreneures incubées, invitant à redoubler d’efforts collectivement sur la question du passage à l’échelle des projets portés par des femmes.

“En tant que femme entrepreneure, j’ai dû franchir tellement d’obstacles. Valorisons les espaces qu’occupent les femmes et montrons que nous le valorisons, à travers nos actes.”

Yemisi Mokuolu, fondatrice de Hatch, expliquait que la présence de puissantes femmes dirigeantes au sein des industries culturelles et créatives avait permis d’influencer l’ensemble du secteur et amener les femmes à créer un environnement de travail plus équitable dans la mode par exemple. En réponse aux nombreuses barrières qu’elle a elle-même rencontrées en tant que femme, elle a créé cette agence avec la volonté de promouvoir un écosystème plus inclusif et ouvert à la diversité. Elle s’engage ainsi dans des actions de mentorat, d’entraînement au leadership, de soutien technique et divers programmes d’éducation destinés aux femmes. Elle louait notamment le programme Ayadalab auquel elle apporte son soutien et qui compte 60% de femmes entrepreneures : un exemple selon elle de l’importance de valoriser l’impact des femmes et de créer un environnement propice au développement de ces dernières dans la tech, le digital ou dans les industries créatives.

Conclusion d’INCO

“Le continent africain est une terre d’entrepreneuriat en général, et d’entrepreneuriat féminin. Avec la tech d’un côté, et les femmes de l’autre, le continent a le cocktail idéal pour de très belles réussites”

Jacques Dasnoy présentait rapidement INCO, entreprise française qui investit 200 millions d’euros dans les entreprises à impact, accompagnent les startups dans 28 pays et forment des publics fragiles et isolés aux métiers de demain.  Il dressait les grandes lignes de l’entrepreneuriat féminin en Afrique avec 25% des femmes en âge de travailler qui entreprennent, 50% qui pensent créer leur entreprise dans les 5 ans à venir dans un contexte où l’entrepreneuriat est substantiel et davantage une alternative à un marché de l’emploi peu développé qu’un réel choix. Il défendait ainsi l’importance de faire émerger des rôles modèles et de valoriser les réussites de femmes entrepreneures afin de contrebalancer leur tendance naturelle à l’auto-censure. Il affirmait, en partenariat avec l’AFD, promouvoir l’entrepreneuriat auprès des femmes comme voie d’émancipation pour elles-mêmes et leur communauté, et soutenir des initiatives entrepreneuriales portées par et pour les femmes, à travers le concours AFD Digital Challenge 2018 notamment.

Synthèse

L’Afrique est un véritable continent de l’entrepreneuriat féminin. Avec 24% des entreprises créées par des femmes contre 6% en Europe, il présente le plus fort taux d’entrepreneuriat féminin du monde. L’entrepreneuriat apparaît pour les femmes comme une alternative à un marché de l’emploi peu développé, 50% d’entre elles en âge de travailler pensent créer leur entreprise dans les 5 ans à venir. Pour celles qui se sont déjà lancées, elles ont apporté une valeur ajoutée de 150 à 200 milliards de dollars en 2016 et ont prouvé leur efficacité opérationnelle. Pourtant elles rencontrent aujourd’hui de nombreux freins, notamment un manque de financement qui pousse 30% d’entre elles à abandonner. Les dynamiques sont les mêmes à l’échelle européenne où seulement 6 à 10% d’entrepreneures femmes sont incubées et où les candidatures de femmes se font rares. A l’origine de ces disparités, les biais sexistes des investisseurs et des banques, une difficulté pour les femmes à se conformer à l’environnement très masculin des startups ou encore une autocensure de ces dernières. Face à ces nombreux freins, de nombreuses bonnes pratiques ont émergé du panel telles que le renforcement de l’inclusivité et de la diversité sur l’ensemble des processus de recrutement internes et de sélection des projets, des politiques de discrimination positive à l’entrée, des programmes d’accompagnement spécifiques pour les femmes, des actions de sensibilisation auprès des investisseurs, une autonomisation et formation des femmes sur toute la chaîne de valeur ou encore la valorisation de rôles modèles.

Tags:

    Related Posts